Haers wins in last lap thriller at Canandaigua

Sweetners Plus presented a special night at Canandaigua Motorsports Park on Saturday night, as the “Land Of Legends” paid tribute to a legend of announcing and broadcasting in the form of Gary Montgomery. The racing action did not disappoint, as three of the four features came down to battles on the final lap, with two decided in the run to the finish.

The 35-lap Modified feature started with Lance Dusett taking the early lead from the front row. The yellow waved for the first time on lap 4 when James Sweeting caught an infield tire marker and collected Steve Paine in turn two. When racing resumed, Derrick Posiadlo snagged the lead, but Gary Tomkins had the fastest car on the track, using the outside lane to move to the front a few laps later. Behind him, Justin Haers and Matt Sheppard were also fighting their way through the field, eventually settling into second and third spot by halfway. Tomkins began to work through lapped traffic as the race moved into its second half, maintaining a distance over Haers and Sheppard, who fought hard for the second spot. Behind them, Alan Johnson and Billy Dunn had also worked their way into the top ten. In the final ten laps, Haers and Sheppard began to close in on Tomkins, who had to slow up his pace slightly due to an overheating issue. With three laps to go, Haers had caught Tomkins and the two battled for the lead, with Tomkins using the outside lane to maintain the point. On the final lap, Haers went for the inside in turn three and got the bite he needed to outrun Tomkins coming off the final corner and won the drag race to the line by a car length to take his first win of the year at CMP. Tomkins and Sheppard were right behind, followed by Alan Johnson and Posiadlo.

Modified heats were won by Lance Dusett and Steve Paine.

The 25-lap Sportsman feature began with a battle between Anthony Kimble and Austyn Fugle for the lead. The first yellow flew on lap 3 for a tangle involving Tim Schneider, Ricky Newton, and Dave DiPetro. Paul Guererri took the lead on the restart and as he built a lead, Kevin Ridley moved into second. As that duo pulled away, Matt Guererri slotted into third as Kevin Root and Dave Marcuccilli battled with Fugle to get into the top five. Root was the first to slip past, with Marcuccilli doing it a few laps later. As the leaders worked traffic, Marcuccilli was able to move past Root to take the fourth spot. On lap 20, Frank Guererri Jr blew an engine going into turn one. That brought out the yellow and Ridley ran side by side with Guererri when green flag racing resumed, with Ridley grabbing the lead on lap 21. A tangle between Kyle Keihn and Zach Sam brought out another yellow on lap 24 to set up a one lap dash to the checkers. Kane Bristol had a fantastic restart to launch into third, but Ridley was able to hold on to the lead and take his first win of the 2017 season. Paul Guererri took second, followed by Bristol, Matt Guererri, and Marcuccilli.

Sportsman heats were won by Anthony Kimble, Dave Marcuccilli, and Ricky Newton.

Lee Sanders and Jason Whipple battled all race long for the 305 Sprint car feature win, with the margin of victory less than half a car length as Sanders and Whipple split a lapped car coming to the checkers. Sanders got the win at the line over Whipple, Dan Craun, Tom Fletcher, and Bobby Gardner.

The 305 Sprint heat was won by Lee Sanders.

Marc Minutolo grabbed the early lead in the 15-lap Street Stock feature until the pace was slowed by CJ Guererri and Nick Dandino’s twin spins in turn 3 on lap 2. On the restart, Minutolo maintained the lead for one lap as Bob Buono closed in and moved around Minutolo on lap 4 to take the point. Adam Depuy then battled for second, grabbing the spot on lap 6 as he chased after the leader. Buono pulled away at the front of the field as Rick Crego made a move on lap 12 to take the fourth spot. At the checkers, Buono had his third win of the season over Depuy, Minutolo, Crego, and Blaine Smith.

Street Stock heats were won by Marc Minutolo and Bob Buono.

This Thursday night, Pabst Blue Ribbon/The Northeast Racing Products Trade Show will present a stop on the Donath Motorworx/Lucas Oil ESS Speedweek, along with a 40-lap, $3,000 to win Modified event and the GRIT Sportsman Series “Battle Of Ontario”. Racing on Thursday night begins at 7:30 p.m. Saturday, July 1st, racing continues at Canandaigua Motorsports Park as it will be Billy Campbell Night featuring the Modifieds, Sportsman, 305 Sprints, Street Stocks, New Legends, and a Youth Demo Derby. For details, visit www.canandaiguamotorsportspark.com.


JUSTIN HAERS, Gary Tomkins, Matt Sheppard, Alan Johnson, Derrick Posiadlo, Lance Dusett, Billy Dunn, Justin Wright, Kyle Coffey, Gil Tegg Jr, James Maier, Rick Richner, Kody Graham, James Sweeting, Steve Paine.

KEVIN RIDLEY, Paul Guererri, Kane Bristol, Matt Guererri, Dave Marcuccilli, Kevin Root, Nick Guererri, Casey Pavlick, Austyn Fugle, Karl Comfort, Anthony Kimble, Brett Buono, Ricky Newton, Tim Baker, Garrison Krentz, Robbie Johnston, Jeff Davoli, Joe Cook, Kyle Kiehn, Zack Sam, Torey Stoughtenberg, Greg Henry, Frank Guererri Jr, Dave DiPetro, Tim Schneider.

LEE SANDERS, Jason Whipple, Dan Craun, Tom Fletcher, Bobby Gardner.

BOB BUONO, Adam Depuy, Marc Minutolo, Rick Crego, Blane Smith, CJ Guererri, Parker Smith, Nick Dandino, Shawn Lloyd, Seth Steele, Steve Pesarek, George LaVare, Mike Welch, Bryan Faulkner, Frank Burnell (DNS).

Also on FingerLakes1.com