Seneca Board Tips Heavily Towards GOP

Five new county supervisors and one former supervisor were elected to the Seneca County Board of Supervisors. The new board will be controlled by Republicans who out-number Democrats by an 11-to-3 margin.Incumbent supervisors in Romulus, Varick, and Waterloo lost their seats. In Romulus David Kaiser defeated Ray Zajac 297 to 257. In Varick Joan Teichner was the winner in a three-way race beating both the incumbent supervisor Bruce Johnson and former supervisor Bob Hayssen. The biggest surprise in the Seneca County elections is the race for county supervisor in Waterloo where longtime supervisor Ed Boudreau lost his seat to newcomer Robert Shipley, Jr. In the race for the two-county seats representing Waterloo, Fred Trickler had the most votes-1083; Shipley was next with 1009; Bonnie Hosford picked-up 692; Boudreau ran last with 655 votes.In Seneca Falls voters elected incumbent Rich Ricci and newcomer Laverne Laflaer, Jr.In Lodi, J. Barry O’Neil is the new supervisor. He replaces David Bagley.Returning to their seats on the board are James Mooney in Waterloo, Brayton Foster in Covert, Dale Smith in Junius, Robert Faverau in Ovid, and Peter Same in Seneca Falls. Tyre’s Patsy Amidon was not up for re-election. Tyre town voters elect a new supervisor every four years.Democrats on the board are: Barto, Same, and Teichner.Republicans are: Mooney, Foster, Smith, O’Neil, Faverau, Kaiser, Lafler. Ricci, Shipley, Trickler, and Amidon.The weighted vote is in favor of the Republicans 557 to 193.


Also on FingerLakes1.com