Yates Legislature will have new leader

After four years as chairman of the Yates County Legislature, Dr. Tim Dennis will not seek the position in 2018.

Dennis, a retired veterinarian, told the board of his plans earlier this month as he continues to recuperate from a medical issue. Vice Chairman Doug Paddock will chair the Legislature’s year-end meeting Friday.

“I had been thinking about whether I wanted to run for chairman again even before the medical situation,” Dennis said Wednesday. “I also think it’s healthy to allow other people to move through the ranks for leadership positions.”

Dennis, a Benton resident, was first elected to the Legislature in 2007 and has been re-elected every two years since, including last month. He represents the Legislature’s District 2, which includes the towns of Benton, Potter and Torrey.

FL Times:
Read More

Also on FingerLakes1.com