Ontario Co. GOP celebrate election success

Among the officers of the Ontario County Republican Committee and state legislators at the annual holiday party at the Inn on the Lake were (left to right) Phil Beckley, second vice chair, Trisha Turner, chairwoman, State Sen. Rich Funke, State Sen. Michael Nozzolio, State Sen.-Elect Pam Helming, Chris Catt, first vice chair, and Silvio Palermo, secretary.

Trisha Turner, chairwoman of the Ontario County Republican Committee, opened the 2016 holiday party Dec. 7 with news from Albany.

Earlier in the day in the state capital, Ms. Turner, of Victor, was elected New York State Republican Vice Chair of the Finger Lakes Region at a meeting of county Republican chairs from across the state and state committee leaders.

The Finger Lakes region includes the counties of Allegany, Livingston, Monroe, Ontario, Schuyler, Seneca, Steuben, Wayne and Yates. Ms. Turner will serve under New York State Chairman Ed Cox and will work with Cox and the counties on strengthening the Republican Party in the region and state.

After announcing that the 2017 Ontario County Professional Directory is dedicated to retiring State Senator Michael Nozzolio, Chairwoman Turner presented the senator with a plaque in recognition for his accomplishments during his long tenure.

Sen. Nozzolio thanked the audience of 100 committee members for the honor of their friendship and said he is grateful for the opportunity he was provided by the people.

Senator Elect Pam Helming, Nozzolio’s successor representing the 54th District, thanked the committee members for their support and pledged a smooth transition from the Town of Canandaigua, where she is supervisor, to the State Senate. Also speaking was 55th District State Senator Rich Funke, who was re-elected this fall without opposition.

William Kocher, who was re-elected Ontario County Court Judge, and Terence Robinson, who lost a close race for the other county judgeship, both said they were honored by the support of the committee.

State Assembly Minority Leader Brian Kolb, also re-elected unopposed, was unable to attend the event, but sent a message of holiday greetings. Representatives of Congressmen Chris Collins and Tom Reed, both re-elected, also thanked the committee.

In other action, Chairwoman Turner announced that Bristol Supervisor Bob Green will serve as the county committee’s liaison to the Ontario County Board of Supervisors. She also reported the creation of a Hospitality Committee, which will be chaired by Slagana Mitris of Victor.

The last business before the holiday festivities began was the announcement and recognition of the following Committee Persons of the Year:

Bristol – Sandra Riker;

City of Canandaigua – Dudley Purbeck;

Town of Canandaigua – Patrick Vimislik;

Town of Farmington – Michelle Finley;

City of Geneva – Tony DiCostanzo;

Town of Geneva – Patrick Riley;

Town of Gorham – Sharon Gage;

Town of Hopewell – Ted Bateman;

Town of Manchester – Helen Schwartz;

Town of Phelps – Al Cauwels; and

Town of Victor – Kim Reese.

The above is a republished press release from Ontario County Republican Committee and was not written by FingerLakes1.com. Click here to submit press releases, community announcements, or news tips to the FingerLakes1.com team. Newsroom inquiries can be sent by clicking here.

Also on FingerLakes1.com