Cayuga County-area school officials to advise Katko on education issues

U.S. Rep. John Katko has established two advisory boards consisting of school officials from the 24th Congressional District, including the Cayuga County area, to advise him on education issues.

One panel will focus on primary and secondary education, according to Katko’s office. The other will provide guidance on issues affecting higher education.

Members of the primary and secondary education advisory board will include administrators and teachers from schools in each of the district’s four counties. The Cayuga County representatives include Auburn Superintendent Jeff Pirozzolo, Auburn High School Principal Brian Morgan, Moravia High School Principal Bryan Ford and Emma Cowley, a teacher at the Port Byron Central School District.

Jessica Docteur, assistant superintendent for curriculum at Cayuga-Onondaga BOCES, is on the panel. Two officials from nearby schools in Onondaga County — Skaneateles Superintendent Ken Slentz and Elbridge Elementary School Principal RJ Hartwell — have joined the advisory board. Laurie Piccolo, executive director of the Cayuga/Seneca Community Action Agency, is also a member.

Read more from the Auburn Citizen

Also on FingerLakes1.com