NEW CHAPTER: Tri-M Music Honor Society forms at Waterloo High School

The Tri-M® Music Honor Society, the honor society for secondary school music students, announced the chartering of a new chapter at Waterloo High School in Waterloo under the leadership of Daniel Hacker.

The formation of this chapter signifies the school’s recognition of the importance of the arts in the development of a comprehensive educational program. The Tri-M Music Honor Society provides a means of recognizing the efforts and achievements of music students who volunteer their time and share their musical talent with others. Since 1952, nearly 7,500 Tri-M chapters have been chartered in the United States and abroad, and current membership exceeds 75,000.

The goal of the Tri-M Music Honor Society is to foster greater interest in band, orchestra, and choral performance and to provide more opportunities for personal musical expression. Students are selected for membership in the honor society on the basis of musicianship, scholarship, character, leadership, and service to their school and community. The organization’s high standards serve to challenge students to greater effort and achievement and to encourage them in the pursuit of excellence.

In 1983, the Tri-M Music Honor Society became a program of the National Association for Music Education (NAfME). National Association for Music Education, among the world’s largest arts education organizations, is the only association that addresses all aspects of music education. NAfME advocates at the local, state, and national levels; provides resources for teachers, parents, and administrators; hosts professional development events; and offers a variety of opportunities for students and teachers.

NAfME orchestrates success for millions of students nationwide and has supported music educators at all teaching levels for more than a century.

The following students were inducted into the Waterloo High School Chapter of Tri-M at a ceremony on April 12, 2018 in the Waterloo High School Auditorium: Joseph Arena, Adi Aunkst-Park, Tiana Contreras, Duvante Cora, Ian Doyle, Hannah Fegley, Victoria Greenfield, Thomas Nolan Kennedy, Abraham Kinney, Miranda Lavalette, Aaliyah Mason, Emily Miracle, Courtney Page, Nicholas Page, Dalton Polley, Zaria Ralston, Zachary Rescol, Ashley Ross, DeAnna Thurston, Caitlin Waye, Ethan Wagner. 

Because of their dedication to music, and as an inspiration to our student musicians of the Waterloo Central School District, the members of Tri-M Chapter 7779 welcomed the Presidents of the Waterloo Music Boosters Organization, Mrs. Coreen Lowry and Mrs. Debra Ellioto as Honorary Tri-M Members.

A special honorary lifetime membership was presented in the memory of Mr. Tristan Folk to his family for his contributions leading to the creation of the Tri-M Chapter at Waterloo High School. 

For more information about Tri-M or NAfME, visit the website at www.nafme.org/tri-m or call the NAfME office at 703-860-4000.

Also on FingerLakes1.com