NY appeals after feds deny Lake Ontario disaster aid for Cayuga County

The Federal Emergency Management Agency denied New York’s request to extend a Lake Ontario flooding disaster declaration to Cayuga County, according to state and local officials with knowledge of the decision.

Last week, the White House announced that President Donald Trump approved the major disaster declaration for six counties along Lake Ontario. However, Cayuga and Monroe counties weren’t included. U.S. Rep. John Katko’s office said the claims for the two counties were still being reviewed.

Niel Rivenburgh, acting director of the Cayuga County Office of Emergency Services, said he was informed late last week that the request to include Cayuga County was denied. The application was rejected because FEMA determined that the county didn’t meet its threshold for disaster aid.

Read more from the Auburn Citizen

Also on FingerLakes1.com