USDA designates Cayuga County natural disaster area after a hard freeze earlier this year

The U.S. Department of Agriculture said Cayuga County qualifies for natural disaster assistance after reviewing losses caused by the combined effects of a hard freeze and unseasonably warm temperatures from Feb. 10 through April 27.

In a release, the USDA named 10 counties designated natural disaster areas — Albany, Onondaga, Orleans, Rensselaer, Saratoga, Schenectady, Schoharie, Schuyler, Seneca and Washington. It extended assistance to 23 additional New York counties, including Cayuga, because they were contiguous with the original 10.

The Auburn Citizen – News:
Read More

Also on FingerLakes1.com