Fair Haven elects new mayor by slim margin

On Tuesday, voters turned out in Cayuga County to decide on the future of multiple elected positions throughout the county. Not all of the results came as expected, and in one of the biggest shocks of the evening — an incumbent lost his seat as mayor.Fair HavenResidents in Fair Haven had a mayoral race, as well as a trustee race on their hands. William McVea, who is the incumbent — a Republican — was challenged by James Basile of the Anchor Party. The seat carries a four-year term. Two trustees – Walter Kreling and Judith Dunaway are both seeking re-election.Results: Challengers James Basile defeated incumbent William McVea by a mere six votes. Basile received 102 votes, while McVea received 96. Both trustees won re-election in Fair Haven, as well.AuroraResidents in Aurora came out to elect two individuals to its board of trustees. This was one of the few contested races in Cayuga County, which featured three people fighting for two available seats. Incumbent trustee Alan Ominsky, a member of the Sun Party, sought re-election, as did incumbent Peachtree Party trustee Kit Van Orman. The challenger in the race was John Dentes, who was a member of the Dentes for Trustee Party.Results: The two incumbent members of the village board of trustees were re-elected. Kit Van Orman and Alan Ominsky won re-election capturing 81 and 61 votes respectively. Challenger John Dentes received 56 votes, falling just five votes shy of overtaking Ominsky.SkaneatelesWhen former Trustee Jim Lanning was elected Town Supervisor in November it created a vacancy on board. Trustee Gregg Eriksen, who was appointed to Lanning’s seat in January, ran Tuesday to keep that seat against Andy Ramsgard, the Skaneateles Party challenger. The remaining term is a three-year run on the board, and Ramsgard was appearing in his third consecutive election.Results: Gregg Eriksen received 364 votes against Andy Ramsgard’s 299. Eriksen will now serve the last three years of the unexpired term.MarcellusResidents in the Village of Marcellus were faced with the decision of choosing one candidate for the board of trustees, which saw two individuals vying for the opening. Sara “Sally” Tallman ran on the Citizen’s Party line against challenger John Bromka, who ran under the Lamplighter’s Party. The seat carries a four-year term.Results: Sara “Sally” Tallman was re-elected after receiving 86 votes. Bromka received 37 votes.Stay tuned to FingerLakes1.com for updated results — as information continues to come in.

Also on FingerLakes1.com