PGCBL announces postseason changes

The 2016 PGCBL postseason will look a little different than in years past. Starting this summer, the PGCBL postseason will feature four teams from each division. In the new playoff format, the No. 4 seed and the No. 1 seed will square off in a one-game playoff and will face off against the winner of the one-game playoff between the No. 3 and No. 2 seeds. The winner of each one-game playoff will proceed to the East Division Championship and West Division Championship Series, respectively. The higher seed in each divisional championship round will host games one and three while the lower seed hosts game two. The winners of the best-of-three league championship series will meet in the PGCBL Championship Series. In the PGCBL Championship Series, the lower seed—based on regular season record—will host game one, while the higher seed will host games two and three. The 2016 PGCBL postseason will begin on Monday, Aug. 1. The league championship series are tentatively scheduled for Aug. 2-4, while the PGCBL Championship Series is tentatively scheduled for Aug. 6-8.The move comes after the league added three new teams this offseason in the Oneonta Outlaws, the Geneva Red Wings and most recently, the Jamestown Jammers. The Outlaws will compete in the East Division, meaning the East will have six teams while the Red Wings and Jammers will be in the seven-team West Division. The full 2016 PGCBL schedule will be released later this offseason. The PGCBL is affiliated with Perfect Game USA, the largest independent baseball scouting service in the United States. For more information about the PGCBL, visit www.pgcbl.com and follow the league on Twitter, @PGCBLbaseball.

Also on FingerLakes1.com