Seneca County cuts ties with Harris Beach law firm

Robert W. Hayssen, Chairman of the Seneca County Board of Supervisors announced that there was a special board meeting on Saturday morning resulting in the termination of Harris Beach, PLLC. The board immediately entered executive session to discuss pending litigation. Chairman Hayssen did not anticipate any immediate action this morning by the Board, however, after 90 minutes behind closed doors, the Board of Supervisors did just that. On Wednesday, November 5, Chairman Hayssen said he was contacted by Harris Beach PPLC with the news that they had failed to meet the deadline to file a petition for a writ of certiorari to the U.S. Supreme Court. The deadline date was October 29. Chairman Hayssen immediately met with Majority Leader Robert Shipley, who also serves as the Chairman of the Indian Affairs Committee, and Minority Leader Cindy Garlick Lorenzetti, who is also a member of the Indian Affairs Committee. Phil Spellane of Harris Beach and Frank Fisher, Seneca County Attorney were also at the meeting. On Friday, November 7 Chairman Hayssen called a special meeting of the Board of Supervisors for Saturday morning to discuss pending litigation. After 90 minutes in executive session, the board reconvened in open session. The decision was made to terminate Harris Beach. Not only on Indian Affair issues, but all legal issues with Seneca County. Mr. Robert Shipley, Indian Affairs Committee Chairman made a motion, seconded by Mrs. Cindy Garlick Lorenzetti, to terminate Harris Beach PLLC as its legal representative, not only in ongoing legal issues with Cayuga Nation, but ALL legal matters regarding Seneca County, effective immediately. The motion passed unanimously by all members attending Saturday morning’s meeting. The action will be re-ratified by the full Board of Supervisors at its regular board meeting on Tuesday, November 11, 2014. Supervisors present:Chairman Robert Hayssen R-Varick Robert Shipley R-Waterloo Cindy Garlick Lorenzetti D-Fayette Lee Davidson R-Lodi Donald Earle R-Seneca Falls Steven Churchill D-Seneca Falls Greg Lazzaro R- Seneca Falls Ron McGreevy R- Tyre Keith Kubasik R-Waterloo Ron Serven D-Junius

Also on FingerLakes1.com