Race Summary from Saturday at Paradise Spedway

A day that started cloudy and grey turned sunny as the second leg of the Fall Series took place on a perfect September night at Paradise Speedway. The regular Paradise divisions were joined by the Outlaw Sprints, which run a snowmobile engine in their Micro Sprint chassis. The 600 Pro Micro Sprint contest had only one lap completed when the red flew for Paul Colagiovanni’s wild end for end flip in turn four. Jacob Lewczykk and Dan Naegele ran side by side for the lead on the restart until Lewczyk took over the point. Behind them, Megan Allen used the outside lane to move past Tyler Hill for third, then Naegele a couple of laps later. On lap 7, Allen started to challenge Lewczyk for the race lead using the same outside line, finally moving ahead on lap 9 to take the top spot. Allen then pulled away to take her first victory of the Fall Series over Lewczyk and Naegele, with Tyler Hill and Mickey Ciliberto rounding out the top five. The 600 Amateur/Stock Micro Sprint feature event got underway with Brian Vetter outrunning Matt Neill into turn one as John Colaprete and Jason Doty battled side by side for third for several laps. Vetter stretched his lead to a full straightaway at the checkers, with Neill in second and Colaprete the top finishing Stock competitor in third. In the 270/125 Micro Sprint contest, Brian McGinley outdueled Matt Northrup to take the win, with Nash Ridley finishing ahead of fellow 125 competitor Chance Tibbals for third place. The visiting Outlaw Sprints were a spotlight on Eric Wright, as he clicked off some fast laps as he dominated their feature event, with Geoff Shiwell holding off Chuck Bruce for second until the white flag lap, when Bruce slid underneath in turn four to grab the position. The 4 Cylinder division was split into Front Wheel Drive (FWD) and Rear Wheel Drive (RWD). In the RWD event, James Kreidler III had his hands full with Chad Ayers and Rick Horton challenging him for the lead on several occasions. Jayson Smart also got into the mix at the halfway point, but Kreidler was not to be denied as he took the win over Ayers and Smart. The FWD class also had a great feature, with Craig Freligh holding off Dave Mills for a hard fought win, with James Werner passing William Werner late in the race to get third. A strong field of Clone Lite karts began their feature with Chad Whetherbee jumping out front. Ryan and Alyssa Swartz battled for second and were joined by Chris Pier in a four car breakaway at the front of the pack. Chad pulled away from the battling Swartz siblings to record the win, as Ryan pulled a last corner pass to take the runnerup spot over Alyssa. The Clone Heavy main event turned into a copy of the heat race, as Andy Costa and Vance Palmer battled it out for the lead with Corey Skurpski lurking behind in the third position. Palmer was able to gap out on Costa in the final two laps to notch the win with Skurpski just behind them in third. The Junior 1 Combined feature came down to a battle between division regulars James Donaldson and Hasen Whetherbee, with the two battling until Whetherbee got the lead on lap 4 and pulled away to take the win over Donaldson and Kaela Vanderpool. The Junior 2 Combined event was led flag to flag by Charlie Tibbetts, but Justin Pier and Breannah Mills battled hard for second all race long, with Mills getting the spot with two to go and pulling away, leaving Pier to settle for third. Joe Mott held off Bill Porter for the Yamaha/Open class win. Dan Waldron went wire to wire to take the victory in the Quad Pro/Stock TT event over fellow rider Donald Jones. Behind them, there was a good race for the top honors in the Stock division that saw Jesse Miller pull away from Jordan Bauer to collect the nod in that group. In the Quad Flat Track final, Joe Schrader bested Jarrod Brown and Doug Smith to take the victory. Next Saturday night is the big ‘Empire Cup’ event for the 600 Pro Micro Sprints, presented by BML Contracting of Lancaster, Buffalo Powder Coating, and Einstein Construction Group LLC. The main event of the evening will be the 40-lap, $1,500 to win feature event for the 600 Pro Micro Sprint division, with a full slate of regular Micro Sprint, 4 Cylinder, Kart, and Quad action on the card for an action packed evening. Pit gates open at 3 p.m. with practice starting at 4:30 p.m. Heats and features for all classes will follow. Paradise Speedway is on Hayes Road in Geneva, NY, just minutes from Thruway Exit 42. For more information, please visit the Paradise Speedway web site at www.paradisespeedway.net or the Paradise Speedway Facebook page. RACE SUMMARY-PARADISE SPEEDWAYSATURDAY, SEPTEMBER 14, 2013 MICRO SPRINT FEATURE WINNERS:600 PRO-MEGAN ALLEN, Jacob Lewczyk, Dan Naegele, Tyler Hill, Mickey Ciliberto, John Colaprete Jr, Bob Finley, Darryl Ruggles, Paul Colagiovanni, Dane Lorenc (DNS), David Ferguson (DNS). 600 AMATEUR/600 STOCK-BRIAN VETTER, Matt Neill, John Colaprete (Stock), Jason Doty (Stock), Davin Delormier. 125/270-BRIAN MCGINLEY (270), Matt Northrup (270), Nash Ridley (125), Chance Tibbals (125).OUTLAW SPRINT FEATURE-ERIC WRIGHT, Chuck Bruce, Geoff Shiwell. 4 CYLINDER FEATURE WINNERS:FWD-CRAIG FRELIGH, Dave Mills, James Werner, William Werner, Ed Oldfield, Robert Pierce, John Butler.RWD-JAMES KREIDLER III, Chad Ayers, Jayson Smart, Rick Horton, Chris Mashewske, Erica Bell, Chris Hand, John Hand Jr. (DNS). QUAD WINNERS:QUAD FT-JOE SCHRADER, Jarrod Brown, Doug Smith, Matt Sampson (DNS).QUAD PRO /STOCK TT-DAN WALDRON (Pro), Donald Jones (Pro), Jesse Miller, Jordan Bauer, Jeff Cornell, Doug Smith, Joe Schrader, Chris Reay, Cole Bielec, Dawson Lovejoy. KART WINNERS:CLONE LITE-CHAD WHETHERBEE, Ryan Swartz, Alyssa Swartz, Chris Pier, Vance Palmer, Mitchell Whetherbee, Kevin Alfred, Joe Betancourt, Dan Marsden, Corey Skurpski, Tyler Reynolds, Wes Alfred, Lance Yeager. JUNIOR 1 COMBINED-HASEN WHETHERBEE (Purple Novice), James Donaldson (Red Clone), Kaela Vanderpool (Purple), Alyssa Vanderpool (Purple Novice), Carson Campbell (Red Clone).JUNIOR 2 COMBINED-CHARLIE TIBBETTS (Blue), Breannah Mills (Blue Clone), Justin Pier (Blue Clone), Ryan Bailey (Blue), Evan Reynolds (Blue), Tony Bizardi (Blue), Michael Davis (Blue Clone).YAMAHA/OPEN-JOE MOTT, Bill Porter (Open).CLONE HEAVY- VANCE PALMER, Andy Costa, Corey Skurpski, Ed Betancourt, Jack Alfred.

Also on FingerLakes1.com