Cory Gramlich wins Saturday feature at Paradise

Cory Gramlich started on the front row and took off to almost a full straightaway lead over fellow front row starter Dan Naegele in the 20-lap 600 Pro Micro Sprint feature at Paradise Speedway Saturday night…but the race was far from over. Only one caution slowed the pace in the contest, coming on lap 4 when Ryan Nicoletta pulled to the inside of turns 3 and 4 with a problem. When racing resumed, Gramlich again built up a lead while Naegele held the second spot. Brandyn Griffin started to work his way into the top five, grabbing the 4th spot on the restart and setting his sights on third place runner John Smith. As Griffin moved past Smith to collect third, Gramlich encountered traffic with five laps to go. Naegele and Griffin closed in as the action got hot and heavy over the final two laps. Gramlich made the right moves at the right time to clear the traffic and score the feature win, while Griffin was able to slip under Naegele on the final lap to grab the runnerup spot. Smith and Bob Finley were fourth and fifth, while the rest of the top ten consisted of Jeremy Groescup (who won the 600 Pro Bonus Money drawing), Bob Glynn, Tyler Hill, Megan Allen, and Tori Kaplin. Jacob Ledwczyk continued to dominate the 600 Amateur/Stick Micro Sprint division, taking the lead on the start and pulling away for yet another feature win. Lewczyk has only fninished out of the winner’s circle once in the 2013 season. Mark Sabins, Alex Hill, Brian Vetter, and Matt Neill rounded out the top five, with Peter Sinack coming home as the highest finishing Stock competitor in sixth place. Chance Tibbals won the 270/125 Micro Sprint feature event over Devin Delormier. It was the first time for Tibbals to ever drive a race car. The 4 Cylinder feature event saw two former winners starting on the front row, and as the green flag flew, Dennis Witchey jumped out to the lead over William Werner and was never headed. There was a good race long battle for third between James Werner and Craig Freligh, with Werner getting the spot at the finish. Quad racing action saw Jesse Miller get the holeshot on heat winner Chris Bero at the start of the Quad Stock TT final. The duo battled for the lead over the entire distance, and Miller was able to thread through slower traffic at the finish to get another win, with Miller, Jeff Cornell, Doug Smith, and Joe Schrader rounding out the top five. The Quad Pro TT main event saw John Moser get the holeshot and lead the first two laps until Corey Masson slid underneath him to take the lead. Masson pulled away and took the top spot over A good field of 3 Wheelers graced the pit area for TT competition and in their final, Fred Morell took off and was unchallenged for the win. Pete Thompson and Ryan Duvall trailed Morrell at the checkers. Joe Talbot was the winner of the Quad Flat Track contest and Aiden O’Donnell picked up the checkered flag in the Mini Quad TT event. Kart competition on Saturday night saw Wes Alfred lead the first couple of laps of the Clone Lite feature until Joe Betancourt grabbed the top spot. Betancourt held on to take the win over Wes Alfred and Matt Fay. In the Clone Heavy/Gold feature Mitchell Whetherbee took a flag to flag win with Matt Fay finishing in second as the highest Clone Heavy kart. Todd Sharp and Chris Knight crossed the line behind Fay. Bill Porter outran Joe Mott and David Neilsen in the Yamaha/Open feature event. James Donaldson went wire to wire to grab another win in the Junior 1 Combined category, with Alyssa Vanderpool and Carson Campbell following. Chris Pier swept the night’s Junior 2 Combined division, winning both the heat and feature events. Josh Ostrander and Tony Bizardi came across in second and third. Racing action continues at Paradise Speedway next Saturday night with a regular program of Micro Sprint, 4 Cylinder, Quad, and Kart action. Gates open at 2:30 with kart and quad practice starting at 4 with their heats following. Micro Sprint and 4 Cylinder practice starts at 6, followed by the full program of Micro Sprints and 4 Cylinders, along with the features for the karts and quads. For more information, please visit the track web site at www.paradisespeedway.net or the Paradise Speedway Facebook page. RACE SUMMARY-PARADISE SPEEDWAYSATURDAY, JULY 13, 2013 MICRO SPRINT FEATURE WINNERS:600 PRO-CORY GRAMLICH, Brandyn Griffin, Dan Naegele, John Smith, Bob Finley, Jeremy Groescup, Bob Glynn, Tyler Hill, Megan Allen, Tori Kaplin, Kyle Pierce, Richie Vanderpool, Hank Stanhope, Ryan Nicoletta, Adam Bruni, Kirsten Dombrowski, Dane Lorenc, Ryan Morgan, Vern Weeks.600 AMATEUR/600 STOCK- JACOB LEWCZYK, Mark Sabins, Alex Hill, Brian Vetter, Matt Neill, Peter Sinack (Stock), Shawn McGinley, Paul Colagiovanni, Cliff Pierce (Stock), Chad Tibbals-DNS, Dylan Westbrook-DNS. 270/125-CHAD TIBBALS (125), Devin Delormier (270). 4 CYLINDER FEATURE WINNERS:FWD-DENNIS WITCHEY, William Werner, James Werner, Craig Freligh, Karl Werner, Ed Oldfield, Robert Pierce (DNS). QUAD/3 WHEELER/BIKE WINNERS:QUAD FLAT TRACK-Joe TalbotQUAD PRO TT-COREY MASSON, John Mosher, Daniel Waldron, Kodey Clark (DNS).QUAD STOCK TT-JESSE MILLER, Chris Bero, Jeff Cornell, Doug Smith, Joe Schrader, Matt DeCook, Seth Knaak, Chris Reay, Dennis Knaak, David Quinn, Adam Knaak.3 WHEELER TT-FRED MORRELL, Pete Thompson, Ryan Duvall, Eugene McNeil, Andrew Duvall, Matt Kemp, Justin Putman.MINI QUAD TT-Aiden O’Donnell KART WINNERS:CLONE LITE-JOE BETANCOURT, Wes Alfred, Matt Fay, Jeff Helstreum, Todd Sharp, Marty Jenkins, Chris Knight, Tobias Fitzsimmons. JUNIOR 1 COMBINED-JAMES DONALDSON, Alyssa Vanderpool, Carson Campbell.JUNIOR 2 COMBINED-CHRIS PIER (Blue Clone), Josh Ostrander (Blue Clone), Tony Bizardi (Blue), Joshua Peters (Blue Clone), Jacob Weidman (Blue), Jon Weidman (Blue), Pierce Smith (Blue), Sydney Whetherbee (Blue)-DNS.YAMAHA/OPEN-BILL Porter (Open), Joe Mott, David Neilsen. CLONE HEAVY/GOLD PLATE-MITCHELL WHETHERBEE (Gold), Matt Fay, Todd Sharp, Chris Knight, Marty Jenkins (DNS).

Also on FingerLakes1.com