Bob Glynn scores first win at Paradise Speedway

Bob Glynn had never visited Victory Lane in his racing career. That changed after he outdueled Jeremy Groescup to take the feaure win in the 20-lap 600 Pro Micro Sprint feature event at Paradise Speedway. Glynn started on the front row and took the lead at the drop of the green over outside front row starter Christina Dombrowksi while Groescup made a fantastic move to dive into second at the end of the first lap. Bob Finley moved into the third spot as the top three pulled away. The race ran clean and green past the halfway point as the top three pulled away, leaving Tori Kaplin to fight with Tyler Hill, Brandyn Griffin, and Megan Allen for the remaining spots in the top five. As the leaders began to work through traffic, Groescup slid under Glynn for the lead, but then the yellow flew on lap 16 when Finley spun in turn four. On the restart, Glynn returned the favor on Groescup, sliding under him in turns one and two to take the lead back and he was able to hold on to it through the finish for a career first feature win. The icing on the cake came when Glynn drew his own car number to pick up the 600 Pro driver bonus money. Groescup was second and Dombrowski had her best finish of the season in third, followed by Hill and Griffin. Six through ten at the finish were Kaplin, Patch Brown, Megan Allen, Finley, and Richie Vanderpool. Multi-time 600 Amateur/Stock Micro Sprint winner Jacob Lewczyk took the lead from the outside of the front row at the start of the feature event and pulled out a full straightaway lead by the halfway point. Behind him, Peter Sinack made a couple of good moves to move up into the third spot, but could not chase down runnerup Dylan Westbrook and winner Lewcyzk. Brian Vetter and Alex Hill rounded out the top five. The 270/125 Micro Sprint feature event saw Devin Delormier and Christina Haniszewski battle for the top spot over the opening few laps, but Delormier was able to pull away as the race neared the halfway point. Delormier maintained the margin to the checkers with Haniszewski taking second as the top finishing 125 Micro Sprint with Johnathan Cohosagen in third place. Dennis Witchey outdragged William Werner at the start of the 15-lap 4 Cylinder feature event and went the distance to take another win. Karl Werner and Craig Freligh had a tight battled for third that came down to the wire with The Unlimited All Star kart series visited Paradise for a special Independence Day weekend event. Their 15-lap feature began with double heat winner Andy Pitt and Ben Taft charging out to take a big lead over the rest of the field. Pitt extended his lead in the second half of the feature to take the win over Jimmy White, Nick Herriven, Dave Richmond, and Brian Lunn. Corey Masson came back after a bobble that cost him the win in the Quad Pro TT heat race to lead the field to the checkers in the final, but it wasn’t an easy win for him as he picked up mud in his left rear rim that caused him to have to ride the final couple of laps with a vibration in the back end. Daniel Waldron and Ralph Missell took second and third. Jesse Miller got the holeshot in the Quad Stock TT Final and led until a red flag for Tim Fingland’s crash. Fingland was OK but his quad was too damaged to continue. On The restart, Miller again took the lead and stretched in out to take the win over Matt DeCook and Jordan Bauer. Aiden O’Denny won the Mini Quad TT event. There was also flat track motorcycle racing as part of the program, with Nathan Peacock besting Jacob Peacock in the Junior Flat Track main event, with Kyle Tambe beating Duke Eagan for the top honors in the Open Pro Am Flat Track division. In other kart racing Saturday night, the Clone Lite/Briggs Lite feature event started with Kevin Root taking the early lead until Nick Herriven was able to scoot by on lap 3. Herriven led the rest of the way to take the win, followed by Root and Kody Dailey. In the Junior 1 Combined event, Hasen Whetherbee led from start to finish to take the top spot in spite of a solid challenge from James Donaldson, who finished in the runnerup position with Alyssa Vanderpool in third. Joshua Peters led the opening lap of the Junior 2 Combined feature, but Bailey Walker got by to go into the top spot on the next lap. Walker and Ethan Olmstead battled to the finish for the win, with the honors going to Walker over Olmstead and Peters. Mitchell Whetherbee put in a dominant performance to capture the win in the Gold kart main event, trailed by Mikal Payne and Doug Payne. The Clone Heavy race saw Vance Palmer and Dan Large run virtually the entire distance side by side, with Large winning by mere inches at the finish. Dan Alfred took the third spot. David Neilsen outran Joe Mott for the win in the Yamaha kart feature. Racing action continues at Paradise Speedway next Saturday night with a regular program of Micro Sprint, 4 Cylinder, Quad, and Kart action. Gates open at 2:30 with kart and quad practice starting at 4 with their heats following. Micro Sprint and 4 Cylinder practice starts at 6, followed by the full program of Micro Sprints and 4 Cylinders, along with the features for the karts and quads. For more information, please visit the track web site at www.paradisespeedway.net or the Paradise Speedway Facebook page. RACE SUMMARY-PARADISE SPEEDWAYSATURDAY, JULY 6, 2013 MICRO SPRINT FEATURE WINNERS:600 PRO-BOB GLYNN, Jeremy Groescup, Christina Dombrowski, Tyler Hill, Brandyn Griffin, Tori Kaplin, Patch Brown, Megan Allen, Richie Vanderpool, Hank Stanhope, Ryan Nicoletta, Adam Bruni, Dane Lorene. 600 AMATEUR/600 STOCK-JACOB LEWCZYK, Dylan Westbrook, Peter Sinack (Stock), Brian Vetter, Alex Hill, Mark Sabins, Paul Colagiovanni, Jason Doty (Stock). 270/125-DEVON DELORMIER (270), Christina Haniszewski (125), Johnathan Cohosagen (125), Brian McGinley (270)-DNS. 4 CYLINDER FEATURE WINNERS:FWD-DENNIS WITCHEY, William Werner, Karl Werner, Craig Freligh, James Werner, Nic k Werner (DNS). QUAD/3 WHEELER/BIKE WINNERS:QUAD PRO TT-COREY MASSON, Daniel Waldron, Ralph Missell, John O’Donnell, Kody Clark (DNS).QUAD STOCK TT-JESSE MILLER, Matt DeCook, Jordan Bauer, Corey Masson, Doug Smith, Jeff Cornell, Joe Schrader, Chris Reay, David Quinn, Tony Lane.MINI QUAD-AIDEN O’DENNY.JUNIOR FT BIKE-NATHAN PEACOCK, Jacob Peacock.OPEN PRO AM FT BIKE-KYLE TAMBE, Duke Eagan.KART WINNERS:UAS/UMLIMITED ALL STARS-ANDY PITT, Jimmy White, Nick Herriven, Dave Richmond, Brian Lunn, Bill Porter, Brian Clark, Ted Richmond, Ben Taft, Tom Voeltz, Bobby Baldwin (DNS).CLONE LITE-NICK HERRIVEN, Kevn Root, Kody Dailey, Mike Walker, Vance Palmer, Joe Betancourt, Wes Alfred, Karalee Craig (Briggs), Calvin Steck, Russell Whipple. JUNIOR 1 COMBINED-HASEN WHETHERBEE (Purple Novice), James Donaldson (Red Clone), Alyssa Vanderpool (Purple Novice), Carson Campbell (Red Clone), Nicholas Root (Red Clone).JUNIOR 2 COMBINED-BAILEY WALKER (Blue), Ethan Olmstead (Blue Clone), Joshua Peters (Blue Clone), Sydney Whetherbee (Blue).YAMAHA-DAVID NEILSEN, Joe Mott.GOLD PLATE-MITCHELL WHETHERBEE, Mikal Payne, Doug Payne. CLONE HEAVY –

Also on FingerLakes1.com