Megan Allen claims 600-mid-season title at Paradise

For the second week in a row, Mother Nature did her best to try and spoil the racing party at Paradise Speedway, but thanks to hard work from the track crew, the afternoon rains that stopped falling around 4:00pm made for a fast, smooth track for the night’s racing action, which featured the Mid Season Championships for all classes. Dane Lorene grabbed the early lead at the start of the 600 Pro Micro Sprint feature, but the first caution came out for David Donk’s spin in turn three on lap 1 and set up a restart. Megan Allen, looking for her 4th win of the season, worked her way into second and hounded Lorene till Tyler Hill’s spin in turn two brought the yellow out at the halfway point. Allen used the outside lane to grab the lead on lap 13, but the yellow flag flew again on lap 18, which set up a two lap dash to the checkers. Allen held on to the lead while there was a wild scramble on the final lap that saw Brandyn Griffin dive under Lorene to grab second, with Tori Kaplan following through. At the checkered flag, Allen had another victory followed by Griffin, Kaplan, Bob Finley, and Lorene. Dane Lorene was drawn in victory lane as the winner of the 600 Pro driver bonus money. Matt Neill took the lead at the start of the 600 Amateur/Stock feature and pulled a few car lengths on feature winners Jacob Lewczyk and Dylan Westbrook. Unfortunately for Neill, his car slowed and stopped on the frontstretch just past the halfway point. On the restart, Lewczyk pulled away from Westbrook and put another one in the win column. Westbrook and Alex Hill crossed the line in second and third spots. The wingless 600 class ran for the first time in the 2013 season, and Chris Stockham took the lead from Darryl Hilkert on lap 3 and took the win. The wingless 600 division will be back in action in the month of July. Brian McGinley passed Christina Haniszewski on lap 4 of the 125/270 Micro Sprint event to take another victory in that Micro Sprint class. Dennis Witchey won the drag race into turn one at the start of the 4 Cylinder feature event, and was challenged by William Werner during the first portion of the event. A quick spin by Craig Freligh bunched the field for a restart. Witchey again assumed the lead on the restart, but Werner slid underneath in turn 1 on lap 8 to take the top spot. Werner held off a challenge The Quad Pro/Stock TT mean event saw Jeff Cornell grab the lead and hold the top spot for the first few laps, while Jesse Miller worked his way through the field after being penalized to the back row as Pro riders Corey Masson and Daniel Waldron charged through the field. At the halfway point, Masson had taken the overall lead, while Miller passed Cornell for the top spot in the Stock class. Masson stretched out the lead at the finish to take the overall win, followed by Waldron and Miller, who was tops in the Stock class. Kart racing action saw Chad Whetherbee jump out to the lead at the drop of the green in the Clone Lite feature, and he went wire to wire to claim the checkers over Mike Walker and Tobias Fitzsimmons. Hasen Whetherbee and James Donaldson had a good back and forth battle in the Junior 1 Combined feature, and at the finish, Whetherbee held on for the win, followed by Donaldson and Alyssa Vanderpool. In the Junior 2 Combined main, Chris Pier held the lead till the red came out for a crash that ended Sydney Whetherbee’s race in turn two. Pier had a flat tire and was able to change it and continue. Pier was able to motor back to the front and took the win over Bailey Walker and Jacob Weidman. Mitchell Whetherbee took the top spot in the combined Clone Heavy/Gold Plate with Tony Velz and Levi Stuck following them. Racing action continues at Paradise Speedway next Saturday night with a regular program of Micro Sprint, 4 Cylinder, Quad, and Kart action, with a special added kart division as the Unlimited All Stars make their first appearance of the 2013 season. Gates open at 2:30 with kart and quad practice starting at 4 with their heats following. Micro Sprint and 4 Cylinder practice starts at 6, followed by the full program of Micro Sprints and 4 Cylinders, along with the features for the karts and quads. For more information, please visit the track web site at www.paradisespeedway.net or the Paradise Speedway Facebook page. RACE SUMMARY-PARADISE SPEEDWAYSATURDAY, JUNE 29, 2013 MICRO SPRINT FEATURE WINNERS:600 PRO-Megan Allen, Brandyn Griffin, Tori Kaplan, Bob Finley, Dane Lorene, John Smith, Keith Granholm, Jeremy Gorescup, Bob Glynn, Darryl Hilkert, Tyler Hill, Richie Vanderpool, Dave Donk, Ryan Nicoletta, Ryan Morgan, Chad Groescup,Dan Naegele, Justin Groescup.WINGLESS 600-Chris Stockham, Darryl Hilkert, Jacob Lewczyk (DNS). 600 AMATEUR/600 STOCK-Jacob Lewczyk, Dylan Westbrook, Alex Hill, Paulie Colagiovanni, Chad Groescup, Matt Neill, Jim Howard (Stock-DNS), Peter Sinack (Stock-DNS)270/125-Brian McGinley (270), Christina Haniszewski (125). 4 CYLINDER FEATURE WINNERS:FWD-William Werner, Dennis Witchey, James Oldfield, Craig Maht, Craig Freligh, James Werner, Ed Oldfield. QUAD/3 WHEELER/BIKE WINNERS:PRO/STOCK TT- Corey Masson (Pro), Daniel Waldron (Pro), Jesse Miller, Doug Smith, Christian Heibik, Joe Schrader, Tim Tratt, Seth Knaak, Jeff Cornell. KART WINNERS:CLONE LITE-Chad Whetherbee, Mike Walker, Tobias Fitzsimmons, Wes Alfred, Bill Olmstead, Todd Sharp, Jeff Holstrom, Levi Stuck.JUNIOR 1 COMBINED-Hasen Whetherbee (Purple Novice), James Donaldson (Red Clone), Alyssa Vanderpool (Purple Novice), Carson Campbell (Red Clone).JUNIOR 2 COMBINED-Chris Pier (Blue Clone), Bailey Walker (Blue), Jacob Weidman (Blue), John Weidman (Blue), Tony Bizardi (Purple), Devon Bush (Blue), Pierce Smith (Blue Clone), Sydney Whetherbee (Blue).CLONE HEAVY/GOLD PLATE-Mitchell Whetherbee (Gold), Tony Velz (Gold), Levi Stuck (Clone Heavy), Holden Sexton (Gold), Corey Skurpski (Clone Heavy).

Also on FingerLakes1.com