Walker tames 600 Pro Micro Sprint field at Paradise

After a day filled with clouds and mist, the skies cleared, the track was prepared, and racing took place at Paradise Speedway Saturday night, with yet another new winner gracing victory lane in the 600 Pro Micro Sprint division. The 600 Pro Micro Sprint feature saw Tyler Walker outdrag Tori Kaplan at the start to grab the lead, while Megan Allen made some early moves to crack the top 5 from her ninth starting spot by lap 4. One lap later, Ryan Nicoletta took a wild ride up and over the bank in turn three, which brought out a red flag. Nicoletta’s car did not flip and he was OK. When action resumed, Allen worked her way into third spot and battled with Kaplan while Walker streaked away. Walker hit lapped traffic at the halfway point and got bogged down a bit trying to get around lapped cars, which allowed Kaplan and Allen to close in quickly. A lap 17 caution for Justin Groescup’s stalled car on the backstretch cleared the way for Walker on the restart, and despite a challenge from Kaplan, he was able to pull away and grab the feature win. Allen tried hard to pass Kaplan on the final lap but had to settle for third, while Hank Stanhope and Patch Brown rounded out the top five. Dan Neagle, Dane Lorene, Jeremy Groescup, David Donk, and Bob Finley rounded out the top ten. The 600 Amateur Micro Sprint main event saw Dylan Westbrook break Jacob Lewczyk’s stranglehold on victory lane in the class, as he was able to keep Lewczyk two car lengths back in the run to the finish to grab his first win of the season. Mark Sabins and Alex Hill finished in third and fourth. Nathan Breese picked up the 270 Micro Sprint feature win over Brian McGinley, who was unable to start the feature event after mechanical problems at the end of his heat race. “Nitro” Nick Werrner took the early lead at the start of the 15-lap 4 Cylinder feature event and led wire to wire for the feature win over William Werner. There was a great battle between Karl Werner, James Werner, Ed Oldfield, and Dennis Witchey for the remaining spots in the top five that carried all the way to the finish. James Werner got the best of that fight for position as he came away third, followed by Karl Werner and Witchey. In the Clone Lite kart feature event, early leader Phil Young spun, was able to come back to the lead, then had a mechanical problem and dropped out, as did Jason Moll on the next restart. Dean Ferguson held off Keith Baker in the run to the finish. Young and Moll fixed their karts and were back for the feature in Clone Heavy, which was a wild three way battle between Ferguson, Young, and Moll. Contact between Young and Moll sent Moll over in turn three, but he was able to restart. Ferguson held off Moll in a two lap dash to the finish to sweep both Clone classes. Colton Dresser and James Donaldson traded the lead back and forth in the Junior 1 Combined feature, with Donaldson winning by just two car lengths. The Junior 2 Combined feature event went to Chris Pier over Tony Bizardi and Joshua Peters. James Cornell Jr. took the lead from Ray Decker on lap 2of the Quad Pro/Stock Flat Track main and cruised to a victory over Decker and Joe Talbot. Daniel Waldron dominated the Pro/Stock TT main for the win, while Matt DeCook and Jordan Bauer battled for the Stock class division behind him until Bauer had a miscue with two laps to go, handing second overall and the Stock class victory to DeCook. The 3-Wheeler TT race was being led by Pete Thompson until he lost a rear wheel and tumbled on the infield sweeper turn, bringing out the red flag. Thompson was OK after the incident. On the restart, Fred Morrell grabbed the lead and gapped out to take the victory over Ryan Duvall and Eric Tilton. Racing action continues at Paradise Speedway next Saturday night with a regular program of Micro Sprint, 4 Cylinder, Quad, and Kart action. Gates open at 2:30 with kart and quad practice starting at 4 with their heats following. Micro Sprint and 4 Cylinder practice starts at 6, followed by the full program of Micro Sprints and 4 Cylinders, along with the features for the karts and quads. For more information, please visit the track web site at www.paradisespeedway.net or the Paradise Speedway Facebook page. RACE SUMMARY-PARADISE SPEEDWAYSATURDAY, JUNE 8, 2013 MICRO SPRINT FEATURE WINNERS:600 PRO-Tyler Walker, Tori Kaplan, Megan Allen, Hank Stanhope, Patch Brown, Dan Neagele, Dane Lorene, Jeremy Groescup, David Donk, Bob Finley, Bob Glynn, Ryan Morgan, Richie Vanderpool, Darryl Hilkert, Brandyn Griffin, Chuck Bruce, Adam Bruni, Justin Groescup, Chad Groescup, Ryan Nicoletta, Tyler Hill. 270-Nathan Breese, Brian McGinley (DNS). 600 AMATEUR-Dylan Westbrook, Jacob Lewczyk, Mark Sabins, Alex Hill. 4 CYLINDER FEATURE WINNERS:FWD/RWD-Nick Werner, William Werner, James Werner, Karl Werner, Dennis Witchey, Chris Ayers (RWD), Edward Oldfield, Craig Freligh, James Oldfield, Jayson Smart (RWD), Jeremy Werner (DNS). QUAD/3 WHEELER WINNERS:PRO/STOCK FLAT TRACK-James Cornell Jr (Pro), Ray Decker, Joe Talbot, Jeff Cornell.3 WHEELER TT-Fred Morrell, Ryan Duvall, Eric Tilton, Darryl Patterin, Andrew Duvall, Pete Thompson, Bryan Raffa (DNS)PRO/STOCK TT-Daniel Waldron (Pro), Matt DeCook, Jordan Bauer, Doug Smith, Tony Lane, Joe Schrader, Darryl Ruggles, Chris Reay, Daivd Quinn, Dawson Lovejoy, Greg Lampman. KART WINNERS:CLONE LITE –Dean Ferguson, Keith Baker, Jason Moll, Phil Young.JUNIOR 1 COMBINED-James Donaldson (Red Clone), Colton Dresser (Red Clone), Alyssa Vanderpool (Purple Plate Novice). JUNIOR 2 COMBINED-Chris Pier (Blue Clone), Tony Bizardi (Purple), Joshua Peters, Bailey Walker (Blue), Ryan Bailey (Blue).CLONE HEAVY –Dean Ferguson, Jason Moll, Mike Young, Keith Baker.

Also on FingerLakes1.com