Shurgott bests 600 Micro Sprint Field at Paradise

Cody Shurgott used some outside maneuvering to come away with the win in Saturday night’s 600 Pro Micro Sprint feature event at Paradise Speedway, becoming the 4th different winner in 5 races in 2013. The win came after Shurgott’s night started on a sour note, as he lost an oil filter coming out for his heat race. “I had a lot of help getting it back together, and we were lucky we didn’t blow it up,” Shurgott said in victory lane. Shurgott started in the 8th spot and immediately charged into the top five in the opening laps, while Cory Gramlich held the race lead. Shurgott had a spirited battle first with Tyler Walker for second and third, and then with Gramlich for the top spot. Shurgott took the top spot on the outside lane on lap 6 and a few laps later got into traffic, while Ray Sands Jr. engaged Walker in a battle for third. As the race moved into its late stages, Shurgott was able to handle the traffic, and even though Gramlich closed to within a couple of car lengths, Shurgott took the win in a race that ran green to checker with no cautions. Gramlich was second, followed by Walker, Sands Jr. , and Tori Kaplan. In the 600 Amateur/Stock Micro Sprint feature, Joan Colaprete took the early lead from Jacob Lewczyk and the two battled hard for the race lead, with Lewczyk finally making an outside move to grab the top spot on lap 12. A caution for Mark Sabins’ spin on lap 14 bunched the field for a one lap dash to the feature checkers, and Lewczyk nabbed the win. Colaprete was second and the highest finishing Stock entry, with the top five completed by Justin Groescup, Matt Neill, and Alex Hill. The 270/125 Micro Sprint feature saw invaders Alex Shaffer and Mark Wurzler outdistance Brian McGinley to go one-two in their feature. Christina Haniszewski was the top finishing 125 Micro Sprint, coming home in the fourth spot. The 15 lap 4 Cylinder FWD feature event began with ‘Nitro’ Nick Werner and William Werner racing side by side for the lead until the red flag flew on lap 5 for James Oldfield’s rollover in turn 4. When the race went back to green, Nick held off William while Dennis Witchey started picking his way through the top five, finally grabbing second in the closing laps. Witchey could not catch Nick, who grabbed the honors with William Werner, James Werner, and Craig Freligh rounding out the top five. Chris Ayers got the best of Chad Ayers in the 12-lap 4 Cylinder Mini Stock feature to grab the win in that division. The Quad Flat Track final saw Ray Decker hold the lead till lap 5, when Joe Talbot took over the lead and held it to the checkers. The Quad Pro/Stock TT Final saw Dan Waldron and Corey Masson battle for the Pro class win, with Waldron taking the honors. Jesse Miller held off Doug Smith and Joe Schrader for the Stock class victory. In the Clone Lite kart feature, Jason Moll managed to grab the lead on the final lap after about a dozen lead changes during the 12-lap contest to take the win. Mike Young and Vance Palmer pulled away from the Clone Heavy field to duel for the checkers, with Young getting a one car length victory. The Yamaha/Open class contest was won by David Neilsen, who held off Joe Mott in a caution-free contest. The Red Clone kart event was won by Sabrina Palmer over Cameron Clark, and the Junior Combined feature was taken by Josh Ostrander after a good race with Chris Pier and Jacob Strickler. Racing at Paradise Speedway continues next Saturday night with a regular race program featuring Micro Sprints, 4 Cylinders, Karts, and Quads. Pit gates open at 2:30 with practice for karts and quads at 4 and their heats to follow. Practice for Micro Sprints and 4 Cylinders begins at 6, followed by their heats at 7. Paradise Speedway is on Hayes Road in Geneva, NY, just off Route 14. For more information on Paradise Speedway, please visit the track web site at www.paradisespeedway.net or the speedway Facebook page. RACE SUMMARY-PARADISE SPEEDWAYSATURDAY, MAY 18, 2013 MICRO SPRINT FEATURE WINNERS:600 PRO-Cody Shurgott 270/125-Alex Shaffer (Christina Haniszweski highest finishing 125)600 AMATEUR/STOCK-Jacob Lewczyk (Joan Colaprete highest finishing 600 Stock) 4 CYLINDER FEATURE WINNERS:FWD-‘Nitro’ Nick Werner MINI STOCK- Chris Ayers QUAD WINNERS:STOCK FLAT TRACK-Joe TalbotPRO/STOCK TT-Dan Waldron (Pro), Jesse Miller (Stock) KART WINNERS:CLONE LITE-Jason Moll JUNIOR KART COMBINED-Josh OstranderRED CLONE-Sabrina PalmerYAMAHA/OPEN-David NeilsenCLONE HEAVY-Mike Young

Also on FingerLakes1.com