State of Emergency in Seneca County

As of 2:30pm May 29, 2012, the Seneca County has declared a local State of Emergency in the Towns of Fayette, Waterloo, and Seneca Falls. All roads within these towns are closed to all traffic until further notice due to downed trees and wires. No unnecessary travel on all roads within the Towns of Fayette, Waterloo and Seneca falls until further notice. Severe storms passed through the area beginning around 1:30 pm, Tuesday. The public is urged to avoid downed power lines, and to not assume that downed wires are dead. Please report downed lines to the Seneca County 911 C e nter, or to NYSEG at 1-800-572-1131 The Seneca County Emergency Operations Center was mobilized at 2:30. County Sheriff, local fire and highway departments are responding to downed trees, power lines, and other storm-caused debris.A news conference has been scheduled for 5:15 pm at the Office for the Aging at the Seneca County Office Building, 1 DiPronio Drive, Waterloo, New York with regards to an update on the storm earlier this afternoon.

Also on FingerLakes1.com