Skaneateles Festival offering music scholarship

The Skaneateles Festival is now accepting applications The 10th annual Robinson Award, a $1,500 scholarship designed to recognize an outstanding young musician for success in music performance, citizenship, and contributions to the community. In 2002 the Skaneateles Festival created The Robinson Award, an annual scholarship prize, to honor Louise Robinson and her late husband, Dr. David Robinson, for their many years of tireless devotion to the Festival and its ideals. The award is given annually to a young musician whose character, musicianship, and community service reflect the values of David and Louise Robinson – enthusiasm and dedication to music of high quality. For more than 30 years the Robinsons have opened their hearts and their Skaneateles home to musicians, their families, and the audiences who come to hear them perform. Their lakeside residence, Brook Farm, has been a gathering place and rehearsal space for musicians, and is the performance venue for the Skaneateles Festival’s outdoor Saturday evening concerts.Applications from high school students between the ages of 13 and 18 residing in the Central New York region will be considered. Application requirements include: two letters of recommendation; a written personal statement; and a 10-15 minute recording of their playing or singing. The annual presentation of the award is made at a Festival concert in August and is accompanied by a $1,500 prize. The recipient may also be invited to perform at a Skaneateles Festival event. For an application or more information go to www.skanfest.orgor call 315-685-7418. Past winners include:2010 Winner: Alicia Friedrichs, violin, Fayetteville Manlius High School2009 Winner: Nicholas Hrynyk, piano, Auburn Central School2008 Winner: Elizabeth Sutphen, mezzo-soprano, Manlius Pebble Hill School2007 Winner: Nina Elhassan, clarinet, West Genesee High School2006 Winner: Laura Britton, oboe, Westhill High School2005 Winner: Owen Kelley, violin, Fayetteville Manlius High School2004 Winner: Matthew Pikarsky, piano, home schooled2003 Winner: Stephanie Cambra, flute, Liverpool High School2002 Winner: Adam Gay, piano, Skaneateles High School

Also on FingerLakes1.com