43 GHS Students inducted to Nat. Honor Society

GENEVA, NY (Tuesday, Dec. 7) ­ Geneva High School¹s chapter of the National Honor Society inducted 43 new members at a ceremony at the school on Nov. 22. The new inductees include 10 GHS seniors and 33 juniors. The chapter has a total of 62 members. Superintendent of Schools Dr. Robert Young and GHS Principal William Rotenberg spoke at the induction ceremony. The National Honor Society was established in 1921and seeks to promote leadership and develop character among high school students. Rotenberg said this year¹s National Honor Society class is by far the largest in the past four years. He said he was particularly proud of the more than 60 students who were eligible for consideration, including seniors who became eligible this year or applied last year and reapplied this year after improving their applications. He said this year¹s junior class is academically strong and includes musicians, athletes and leaders in service. “It¹s a principal¹s dream to have this many positive role models in our school,” he said. GHS teacher Tricia Budgar, National Honor Society adviser, also was excitedabout the number of new members. “We (GHS faculty) are extremely proud of the students inducted into the National Honor Society,² Budgar said. ³The rigorous application and selection process shows the dedication these students have to bettering their school and community. The large number of students inducted this year speaks to the academic talent, caring culture, and positive role models at our school.” To qualify for the society, students must have and maintain a cumulative grade point average of 3.0 on a 4.0 scale, or by achieving an 85 percent or B average if those scales are used. The standards of standards of character, leadership and service are also considered. Geneva High¹s 2010 National Honor Society inductees are:Seniors: Audrey Adams, Elizabeth Barner, Mason Clark, Christine Driscoll, Michael Goodman, MacKenzie Myers, Carly Rolph, Brittany Tapscott, Nathaniel Wheatley and Haleigh Wright. Juniors: Katrina Amberg, Catherine Baker, Giorgi Bekauri, Courtney Biehls, Ashtin Braman, Kayleigh Brennan, Trevor Burrall, Creighton Camera, Allison Chapin, Catherine Cunningham, Meredith DiDuro, Sara Duchesne, MaryLynn Eddington, Courtney Franceschi, Marissa Gardner, Marli Gringeri, Peter Henry, Philip Lindberg, Stephanie Lozada, Felicia Maybee, Katharine McCorkle, Amanda Millis, Morgan Onorato, Kristin Oswald, Kevin Reed, Callianne Robbins, Kai Schara, Eavan Schmitt, Liza Taney, Morgan Triana, Kelsey VanKirk, Kassandra Voigt and Danae Wetherbee. The new inductees were introduced by the senior National Honor Society members who were inducted as juniors. Those members are Alexandria Biehls, Emily Daykin, Lauren FitzGerald, Parker Foster, Madeleine Gearan, Emily Hogan, Linna Li, Alison Lockwood, Hallie McDonald, Daniel McGuigan, Emma Meteyer, Moriah Murphy, Andy Peng, Kelsey Peterson, McKenzie Ritter, Ryan Sollenne, Danielle Stella, Emily Stella and Anne Wilsey.

Also on FingerLakes1.com