M&T Bank Commitment to Public Higher Education

ROCHESTER, N.Y. –Oct. 22, 2009- M&T Bank’s 20-year tradition of leadership and philanthropy to support the success of Monroe Community College students will be recognized at the Monroe Community College Foundation’s 20th annual Salute to Excellence dinner Thursday evening, Nov. 19, at the Rochester Riverside Convention Center. M&T Bank Executive Vice President Brian E Hickey and Regional President Daniel J. Burns will receive the award on behalf of the bank.“M&T Bank’s support of public higher education in our community demonstrates a clear understanding of the vital role MCC plays in ensuring access to quality, affordable education,” said Diane L. Shoger, executive director of the MCC Foundation. “With two decades of consecutive board service and contributions in excess of $350,000 to the MCC Foundation’s annual and capital campaigns, M&T Bank is a deserving recipient of the foundation’s highest honor, the Salute to Excellence award.”“MCC, its foundation and our community have truly benefitted from M&T Bank’s philanthropy and commitment to volunteerism,” said MCC Foundation Chair John T. Smith ’71. “Corporate representatives of M&T Bank, including Brian Hickey, Carl Carballada, Bill Sentiff, Fred Kulikowski, John Bartolotta and Daniel J. Burns, have helped the foundation achieve fiscal integrity through their involvement on the board.” (Burns currently serves as a director on the MCC Foundation Board.)“We are especially appreciative of how these bank officers make it a priority to personally meet and congratulate those students who directly benefit from M&T Bank scholarships established at the college,” said Smith.Beverly and R. Wayne LeChase (LeChase Construction Services, LLC) serve as honorary chairs for the event. Lauren Dixon (Dixon Schwabl) serves as the dinner chair.An honored Rochester tradition since 1989, the Salute to Excellence award is a Steuben crystal star, in the shape of the MCC Foundation’s logo. Its design reflects the shining example of the recipient’s personal commitment and generosity to public higher education and the Greater Rochester community. Past recipients of the Salute to Excellence award include Pamela A. and Arunas A. Chesonis, the Louis S. and Molly B. Wolk Foundation, Anne Mulcahy, John L. DiMarco and Bausch & Lomb. Funds raised at the annual dinner support student scholarships, faculty grants and educational innovation at MCC.Tickets are $100 per person; $75 for MCC faculty, staff and students. For tickets and information, please visit www.monroecc.edu/go/foundation or call (585) 262-1500. The event will begin with a reception at 5:30 p.m., followed by dinner, awards and entertainment at 6:30 p.m.

Also on FingerLakes1.com