ATHENA Geneva names 2009 co-chairs

McGuiganTwo members of the ATHENA Geneva Steering Committee have been appointed co-chairs of the 2009 ATHENA Award event.Jessica McGuigan and Christine Shultz, both of Geneva, are taking over the leadership of the planning committee from last year’s co-chairs, Kelly Mittiga and Nancee Scott.McGuigan is a 2005 graduate of St. Bonaventure University in Olean and is currently Public Relations and Program Manager at the Geneva Area Chamber of Commerce.She has been with the Chamber since September 2005 and formerly served as Visitor Services Coordinator and Administrative Assistant. She came to the Chamber after a stint as assistant to the director of the Seneca Lake Whale Watch Festival. Shultz has been employed by Happiness House for 18 years and is currently Director of Clinical Services and Program Initiatives.She is a licensed speech language pathologist, MS CCC-SLP, and holds MS (1991) and BS (1990) degrees in Speech Language Pathology from Nazareth College of Rochester.Both co-chairs have served on the Steering Committee for several years.A dinner to recognize the ATHENA nominees and present the 2009 award recipient is being planned for September 10, 2009, at Club 86. Mike Barnard Chevrolet Buick, located on Hamilton Street in Geneva, is the founding sponsor of the event.Established in 1982, the prestigious ATHENA award is given annually to women in communities around the United States to recognize leaders who demonstrate excellence, creativity, and initiative in their business or profession, while also assisting women to reach their full leadership potential.ShultzNominations are currently being accepted for the fifth annual ATHENA Award sponsored by the Geneva Area Chamber of Commerce.“Our first four Athena Award programs have taught us that there are a number of outstanding women who achieve greatness and inspire others to do so right here in the Finger Lakes,” commented Rob Gladden, Chamber President and CEO. “We are very proud to be able to continue to highlight these women for their accomplishments.”The first four ATHENA recipients were: Nancee Scott, Vice President Retail Sales, Seneca Falls Savings Bank; Geneva pediatrician Dr. Jane McCaffrey; Lucile Mallard, Finger Lakes Misdemeanor Drug Court Resource Coordinator; and Lara Chatel Turbide, vice president Community Services at Finger Lakes Health. All four currently serve on the Steering Committee.There are two ways people can nominate someone for the ATHENA Award. Nomination forms are available at the Chamber office at 35 Lakefront Drive in Geneva or on-line at www.genevany.com. Nominations will be accepted until June 1, 2009. Residents of Eastern Ontario, Seneca and Yates counties are eligible.The Chamber will help people through the nomination process by offering samples of nomination forms and answering questions about the process. Nominators are advised to include copies of the nominee’s resume and to have the nominee help fill out the application to ensure accuracy and complete information. For more information, or for assistance, call the Geneva Area Chamber of Commerce at 315-789-1776.Other members of the 2009 Steering Committee are Phil Beckley of SPLASH, Chamber CEO and President Rob Gladden, Diana Johnson of Lyons National Bank, Eileen Major of Mike Barnard Auto Group, Kelly Mitttiga of First Niagara Bank and Gail Warrick of Seneca Falls Savings Bank.

Also on FingerLakes1.com