Seneca County Names Indian Advisory Board

Seneca County has named a Citizens Advisory Board to assist it in responding to the trust application filed by the Cayuga Indian Nation of New York.On Friday (July 6, 2007) Seneca County Board of Supervisors Chair Edward Barto named the following to the group:Bradford Jones, Town of Seneca Falls;Russell Wheeler, Town of Seneca Falls;Roswell Parks, Town of Fayette;Richard Ricci, Town of FayetteThomas Bjorkman, Town of VarickThe purpose of the group, Barto said, was to review the proposed settlement from the Cayuga Indian Nation and advise the county board of supervisors as it attempts to respond to the Cayugas’ trust application. Their duties will include looking at ways to help the county find a better way to compensate businesses and residents for tax revenue lost if land is taken into federal trust, he explained.At its June 26 board meeting the board of supervisors endorsed the concept of an advisory committee. The Cayugas have set July 31 as the deadline for Seneca and Cayuga counties to either accept or reject the proposed settlement over the tribe’s property potentially being taken into sovereign trust by the federal government. Barto indicated that the members of the advisory board were being invited to attend a meeting with the county board of supervisors’ “Native American Affairs Committee”. That committee plans to meet Tuesday (July 10), most likely following the full Board of Supervisors regular meeting at 7:00 pm.

Also on FingerLakes1.com