Seneca Community Players Honor ’06 Volunteers

On December 14, at an intimate gathering of its members, Seneca Community Players honored several outstanding volunteers and presented its annual awards. SCP treasurer and MC for the evening, Kevin Schoonover recapped the past season, presented the annual awards, announced Theater Association of New York State (TANYS) awards, and welcomed new board members Yavonne Butler, Nick Gillotti and Donna Russell.The Gypsy Robe, given to the chorus member in the youth production who exhibits leadership, exemplary behavior and participates in all aspects of production was awarded to Stephanie Lathey for her participation in “Bugsy Malone, Jr.” The Youth Player of the Year was presented to Aaron Wood for his participation behind the scenes of “Bugsy” as well as several other productions throughout the year. Volunteer of the Year, Erin Winston was recognized for the numerous rolls she plays not only on stage, but also behind the scenes and as a board member. The Leland G. Dewey Award, presented to the person who has given their time and talent to SCP above and beyond the call of duty, went to Annie Bachman. SCP’s Lifetime Achievement Award, presented to someone who has been a part of SCP for 15 or more years and remains active with the organization, was awarded to Paul Wenderlich, an actor with the group since 1983 currently serving on the board.TANYS Roving Adjudicator Merit Awards were received by several SCP productions this season. “Bugsy Malone, Jr.” was recognized for meritorious achievement in costuming (Kris Marble), meritorious achievement in choreography (Erin Winston), and meritorious achievement in acting for her portrayal of Tallulah (Danyelle Lovier). “The Wild Party” received awards for overall production excellence (cast, crew and production team), excellence in direction and choreography (Pam Rapoza), and excellence in musical direction (David “Dewey” Fleszar). SCP’s most recent production, “A Christmas Story,” received an excellence award for set design and construtction (Becky Bly and director Ellie Albro), and meritorious acting awards were given to Pat Fegley for his portrayal of Ralph, Drew Fegley for his portrayal of Ralphie, and Drew Erskine for his portrayal of Flick.For further information about SCP and upcoming productions, visit www.SenecaCommunityPlayers.org.

Also on FingerLakes1.com