Area Village Election Results

Local village elections were held Tuesday and here are the results of the contested races.In Cayuga County the only contested races were in Aurora. Incumbent Mayor Tom Gunderson held off a challege from write-in candidate Karen Hinderlang. The vote count was 104 to 31. In the Aurora Trustees race both incumbents Ken Zabriske and James Chase were re-elected.In Ontario County- Mayor John Holden was re-elected in Victor to serve out the remaining one year term of former Mayor Michael Commisso who died in January. Incumbent board member Gary Hadden and Tim Maher were relected to the village board. In Bloomfield Trustees Tim Charlebois and Mark Falsone were relected. In Shortsville, Fred Mink was elected to a four-year term as village trustee. He defeated Alan Arno 128 to 30. Jeff Wegman won a two-year trustee’s seat in a close race defeating George Strick 75 to 73.In Seneca Falls Republican newcommer T.J. Ikewood will take a seat on the village board. Ikewood won the 1st Ward seat over Democrat Larry Driscoll 319 to 212. The seat was left open when longtime trustee Phil Dressing decided not to seek re-election. In Lodi’s Mayor’s race it’s a dead heat for Potts and Brown 14-votes each.There will be two new faces on the Penn Yan village board. Voters picked incumbent Willie Allison and newcomers Ronald Dailey and Robert Hoban to fill seats on the village board Tuesday. Dailey led all candidates with 449 votes. Hoban received 330 and Allison 250. Incumbent trustee Gary Smith garnered 221 votes and challenger Mike Carmel Junior 212 votes. In Dundee, voters returned incumbent trustees Dawn Keefer and Judy Duquette to the village board and approved a proposed service award program for firefighters and ambulance squad members. In the Wayne County Village of Red Creek- Robert Carlson were serve the remaining one year term on the village board. He was re-elected with 32 write in votes. He was appointed to the seat last year when fromer trustee Debra Letson was elected as mayor.Acting Watkins Glen Mayor Judy Phillips will serve the remaining year of former mayor Bob Lee’s unexpired term. Phillips held off a Tuesday challenge from Nick Kelly by a nearly 3-to-2 margin. Trustee William Smagner outpolled challenger Paul Marcellus by almost the same margin and will fill the remaining year of Phillips’ unexpired trustee’s term. Incumbent trustees Phil Joe Smith and Donna Kelley were the voters’ choices in Montour Falls. Don Spacchio was unopposed in his bid for re-election as village justice.Challengers ousted incumbents on the Hammondsport Village Board. Ann Green and Lawrence Foster defeated the re-election bids of trustees Doctor Sam Pennise and Scott Sprague. In Bath, voters also elected new faces to the village board. Challengers Michael Skelly and Jeanne Glass were the picks over incumbents Katherine Mattoon and Harold Rodbourn. In Savona, incumbent Mayor Mary O’Conor was returned to office and voters chose incumbent Robert Funnell and newcomer Gary Corell to serve on the village board.


Also on FingerLakes1.com